Patiala: Sept. 20, 2014

‘Talent Hunt – 2014’ competition was organised at local the M M Modi College.
Paramjit Singh Sidhu (Pammi Bai), Fellow, Punjabi University, Patiala presided over the function. Sh. Jaspal Singh Kalyan, Chairman, Zila Parishad, Patiala was the guest of Honour. While appreciating the talent and artistic skills showcased by the participants, the Chief Guest said that such cultural events have always given and continue to give talented performers and artists to the society. He further said that such platforms impart courage and spirit to the participants to excel in their lives. He appealed to the students to work hard to promote Punjabi Language, culture and heritage of Punjabi.

Sh. Harbhajan Singh AIG (Intelligence) was also present on this occasion, he appreciated the artistic and cultural presentations made by the students.

Dr. Khushvinder Kumar, the Principal of the College, welcomed the Chief Guest and exhorted the students to actively participate in co-curricular activities. He also said that cultural values must be imbibed by following the rich experiences and traditions of rural folk.

The Talent Hunt started with the reciting of Saraswati Vandana and Shabad Gayan.

Competitions in Elocution, Folk Song, Ghazal, Poetry Recitation, Quiz, Fine Arts, Photography were held. Mementoes and certificates were awarded to the winners. Very captivating Skit, Western Group and Solo Song, Indian Group Song, Gidha and Bhangra were presented during the function.

Prof. Nirmal Singh, Prof. (Mrs.) Shailendra Sidhu and Ms. Charanleen Kaur were judges for Elocution.

Prof. (Mrs.) Shailendra Sidhu, Dr. Manjeet Kaur, Dr. Rajeev Sharma and Prof. Harmohan Sharma were the judges for the Music Items.

Dr. Harcharan Singh, Prof. V. P. Sharma and Dr. Manjeet Kaur were judges for Poetry Recitation.

Prof. Jasbir Kaur, Prof. Rohit Sachdeva, Prof. Poonam Sharma and Prof. Veenu Jain were the judges for Fine Arts items.

Prof. (Mrs.) Poonam Malhotra, Prof. Ajit Kumar and Prof. Ganesh Kumar Sethi were judges for the quiz.

The Chief Guest and the Guest of Honour gave away prizes to the winners. Prof. Balvir Singh, Dean Cultural Activities conducted the stage.

Dr. Vinay Kumar Jain presented vote of thanks.

(Dr. Khushvinder Kumar)